Asia / Australia


2019 Justice in Action Award recipients, with presenters, emcees. From left, Juju Chang, emcee; Tommy Shi - AALDEF board president; Margaret Fung - AALDEF executive director; Ted Shaw, presenter - Professor at University of North Carolina School of Law and former Director- Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund; Vanita Gupta, 2019 JIA award recipient; Michael C. Wu, 2019 JIA award recipient; Samuel S. Choy, presenter - Partner, King & Spalding; and Sree Sreenivasan, emcee.  (All photos by Lia Chang)


Guimaras governor calls on Bensalem, Pennsylvania mayor preparatory to signing an agreement between the two governments to become sister states under the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) sister city, state, program. Shown in the photo are from left to right: Joaquin R. Nava, former governor and congressman of Guimaras island province; Nida Imperial, President, Filipino Executive Council of Philadelphia, Pa.; Pennsylvania State Representative Gene Di Girolamo; Bensalem, Pa. Mayor Joseph “Joe” DiGirolamo; Ernesto Gange, Chairman of the USA-Philippines Friendship Commission and Chairman and Founder of the International Network of Filipinos Overseas (INFO); Guimaras Gov. Samuel Tayo Gumarin, MD, MPH; Pennsylvania State Sen. Tommy Tomlinson; Member of the Philippine House of Representatives Dr. Lucille L. Nava; Ambassador Mario L. de Leon, Jr., past Consul General of the Philippines in New York and this year’s Honorary Grand Marshal of the Philippine Independence Day Parade; Guimaras Vice Gov. Edward Gando, Esq.; Deputy Consul General of the Philippines in New York Kerwin Orville C. Tate, who is currently the acting Head of Post (Consulate General); Hermie Aczon, Ruth Luyun and Cyril Beltran, member of the Guimaras Board. Kneeling are some of the girls of the Guimaras Festival dancers.  (Photo by Tambi Wycoco)

Beginning on May 2, 2018, and everyday thereafter, the Department of Foreign Affairs will open passport online appointment slots for July to September 2018 for Consular Offices in the Philippines WITH THE EXCEPTION OF DFA Aseana in Parañaque City.

Filipino Fulbright scholars with Ambassador Jose Manuel Romualdez (4th from right); Ambassador Jennifer Galt (5th from right); Ambassador John Maisto (4th from left); and Embassy Economic Minister Jose Victor Chan-Gonzaga (2nd from right).  (Philippine Embassy photos)


PERISHED: Dr. Nunilo Rubio
SURVIVED: Dr. Elenita Rubio

Latest comments